"You don't need to pre-book a taxi or limo if you're arriving at Pearson Airport, but it is an option if you like to plan ahead." That is the airport's own line, and the honest place to start: the taxi and limo lines at Arrivals run around the clock at GTAA flat rates — "There's rarely a wait of more than a minute or two." (user report, Reddit, 2025). The Reddit question "pre-book or get a vehicle at the airport?" (Reddit thread title, 2026) has a real answer only for some: a family that needs a child seat, a group of five or more with luggage, a 4 a.m. arrival who does not want to open an app, a guest without one. If that is not you, taxi line vs limo line vs pre-booked car at Pearson, side by side is the shorter read.
A pre-booked car does not wait at the baggage belt. The pickup area for pre-arranged taxis and limos is Door A, Arrivals Level — pre-arranged desk inside the terminal, at both Terminal 1 and Terminal 3 checked on 26 Sept 2026 · source: GTAA; you call or text the operator after bags and customs, get a car number, and walk there. This page compares conditions — waiting, cancellation, car seats, what the flat rate leaves out — next to what users report going wrong. It does not rank operators. For every other way out of the airport, see all Pearson ground transport options.
What is included
Two products share the name: a GTAA-approved taxi or limo company booked direct that meets you at Door A, and an app reservation (Uber Reserve, Lyft scheduled) under the app's pickup rules. What each commits to in writing, and what you still have to ask:
| Item | Pre-arranged taxi or limo (operator terms) | Uber Reserve | Lyft scheduled | What to verify |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price basis | flat rate at booking; one operator publishes a discount off the curb rate (examples below) | locked, up to 90 days ahead | up to 90 days ahead, with the price and pickup time locked in | tax, tolls, stops in the quote? |
| Flight monitoring | claimed ("we track your flight") | driver informed of schedule changes | not stated | how you are notified |
| Waiting after landing | not published; "Waiting Time" listed as an exclusion | 45 minutes after your flight's arrival for UberX, Comfort and XL; 60 minutes for Black, Black SUV, Premier and Premier SUV | not stated; wait-time fees may apply once the driver arrives | free minutes, from when |
| Cancellation | not published — ask | free cancellation up to 60 minutes before the reservation pickup time | free cancellation or edit up to 1 hour before pickup | window, late-cancel cost |
| If the driver is late | not published — ask | not stated | up to $100 in ride credit if the driver is more than 10 minutes late | remedy if late or absent |
| Meeting point | Door A desk inside Arrivals; some operators use numbered Terminal 3 curb posts | Black and Premier at Door A, Arrivals Level, at both Terminal 1 and Terminal 3; UberX and XL at the ride-share zones | Lux at Door A; others at the zones | exact door or post |
| Car seats | on request, not guaranteed — next section | drivers are not guaranteed to have car seats; riders may bring their own | not stated | number, type, who installs |
| Payment | in the vehicle or online, by operator | in the app | in the app | card, deposit, tip |
| Capacity | quoted by vehicle; at the curb a 6-seat taxi van costs the same flat rate as a sedan; a limo SUV or accessible van costs the same as a limo sedan | UberX usually holds 2 suitcases, UberXL about 3; Lyft recommends XL or Black SUV for 3 or more suitcases — luggage space is not guaranteed | XL or Black SUV for three or more suitcases | passengers and bags declared |
App figures checked on 26 Sept 2026 from Uber's and Lyft's YYZ rider pages; operator cells are published wording, not a promise we can test. Two footnotes on price. Tax: GTAA curb tariffs say all taxes included in the flat rate checked on 26 Sept 2026 · source: GTAA, and one pre-arranged operator states HST is included, but a private quote may not — "Usually the limo price needs to add tax as well" (user report, Reddit, 2026). And "cheaper than the line" holds for some operators under their own terms, not as a rule: the curb benchmark to downtown is $70 checked on 26 Sept 2026 · source: GTAA fare estimator by taxi and $77 checked on 26 Sept 2026 · source: GTAA fare estimator by limo, and extra stops, 407 tolls and waiting time sit outside the operator flat rates we read. App reservations at the zones: scheduling an Uber or Lyft ahead: waiting allowance and free cancellation.
Door A: how pickup works
"How does the pick up on return work?" (Reddit thread title, 2025) is what the confirmation rarely answers. The sequence follows GTAA's pre-arranged services page and one operator's published four-step flow; other operators replace the text with a phone call.
- Book with your flight number. The pickup then follows the actual landing, not the schedule.
- Landing. Text-message operators send an SMS at your pickup time; phone operators do nothing until you call. Keep the dispatch number readable without data.
- Bags and customs first, then tap or call. Do not fix a clock time: GTAA tells people meeting international flights to allow 1–3 hours after the scheduled landing time checked on 26 Sept 2026 · source: GTAA. The call triggers the car — "Call them when you're done with customs. They will give you the plate number / car number. Then head to door A of the terminal." (user report, Reddit, 2026).
- Get the vehicle number and meeting spot. A final text or the dispatcher gives you a car or plate number and, at some operators, a pillar or post number.
- Walk to Door A and tell the desk you are waiting for a pre-arranged car. The desk is at Door A, Arrivals Level — pre-arranged desk inside the terminal, at both Terminal 1 and Terminal 3. Operators using Terminal 3 curb posts instead say so in the confirmation.
The driver does not come to the baggage hall or hold a sign unless the operator says so in writing; users describe the standard service as call-and-walk. Anyone offering a cab between the belts and Door A is not your booking. Non-folding mobility aids: passengers with mobility aids cannot be refused or charged extra; taxis and limos carry small aids, and accessible vehicles for non-folding aids are available on request at the limo stands or the pre-arranged desk at Door A checked on 26 Sept 2026 · source: GTAA. The taxi and limo lines use other doors on the same curb — where the rank is.
Children and car seats
We could not pin Ontario's rule on child seats in hired vehicles to an official text, so official statements and user reports are kept apart here.
| Option | Car seat available? | Status of the claim |
|---|---|---|
| Taxi or limo line at Arrivals | none in the line-up; users report taxis and limos are not required to carry them | user reports, Reddit, 2024–2026; official rule pending (below) |
| Uber or Lyft on demand | drivers are not guaranteed to have car seats; riders may bring their own | Uber's YYZ page, checked 26 Sept 2026 |
| Pre-booked limo or van | on request; by user reports one forward-facing seat in a minivan, condition not guaranteed | user reports, Reddit, 2024–2025 |
| Your own seat | you bring and install it; works in every option | user advice, Reddit, 2024 |
The official status of the exemption is not captured: users report that taxis and limos are not required to carry child car seats, but no official rule has been captured official value not captured as of 26 Sept 2026 · user reports (Reddit). Until it is captured, treat "taxis are exempt" as what parents say, not as law.
Three rules for the booking: state the number and type of seats (infant, convertible, booster) in the booking, not by phone after landing; ask whether the driver installs the seat or you do — one parent described the stress of installing seats while the car waited (user report, Reddit, 2026); and count the space — two seats plus luggage usually means pricing a minivan or SUV.
Claim: there are no car seats in the taxi or limo line. Evidence: consistent user reports — "You will have to prebook. The limos don't drive around with a car seat in the trunk." (user report, Reddit, 2024). Limitation: pre-booking is a request — "Pre-booking is not a guarantee of getting one. And, what you might get will be old and not installed properly." (user report, Reddit, 2024) — and the official rule is not in our sources. Implication: if the seat matters, pre-book and confirm it in writing, or travel with your own.
Before you book: checklist
Nine questions for the operator, with the reason each is on the list. Answers belong in the confirmation e-mail, not in a call you cannot prove later.
- Flight number and monitoring — how exactly will you be told? One operator sends an SMS at pickup time and a final text with the car; a reviewer told that flights were monitored got no response after a delay (user report, forum, 2025). Ask for the channel, not the promise.
- Waiting after landing — how long is free, from when? Uber Reserve publishes 45 minutes after your flight's arrival for UberX, Comfort and XL; 60 minutes for Black, Black SUV, Premier and Premier SUV; operators list waiting time as an extra, so ask what is free after your call.
- Meeting point — Door A desk, a numbered post, or inside? Get it in writing.
- Cancellation and changes — what is the window? Uber Reserve: free cancellation up to 60 minutes before the reservation pickup time; Lyft: free cancellation or edit up to 1 hour before pickup. Operators vary; ask what a same-day change costs.
- People and bags — declared in the booking. A family of six with fifteen pieces was told "all he could do was call for another car and it would cost us $100 more" (user report, forum, 2019). The curb surcharge for extra passengers or bags is $15 once per trip; a pre-booked operator prices by vehicle class, so name the class and the bag count.
- Car seats — number, type, who installs. See above; get it in the confirmation.
- What is not in the flat rate. In the operator terms we read: extra stops, 407 tolls, waiting time. Ask whether tax is in the quote.
- Payment — in the car or online, card or cash, any deposit. One operator takes tap, chip or cash in the vehicle; others charge online.
- Mobility aid — ask directly. GTAA's instruction for non-folding aids is to contact the company.
- If you need a child seat, a minivan for 5+ or meet-and-greet, confirm with the operator after booking — the booking widget does not ask. The reply is your evidence.
If any answer is missing, the limo line at Arrivals needs none of them: "even though pre-booking is a bit cheaper, I found it much faster and less hassle to just get a fixed price car from the limo lineup rather than have to call and wait around for them to arrive." (user report, Reddit, 2026) — see taxi line vs limo line vs pre-booked car at Pearson, side by side. A shared shuttle is a different product with fixed stops: the bus and shuttle options from Pearson.
If the checklist is answered, the booking form on this page (partner) takes the same trip details; we may earn a commission, and the extras above still go to the operator after booking.
What goes wrong
Three failure patterns from user reports, different operators, several years — what to guard against, not how likely it is.
- No-show after the call. The passenger cleared customs, messaged as instructed, and no car came — the reviewer above wrote it in capitals: no response. Prevention: a confirmation that names the channel (an SMS with a link is testable before you fly), the dispatcher's number saved offline, a plan B.
- Nobody called back at booking. A request by phone or form was never confirmed. Prevention: treat "no written confirmation" as "no booking" and use the curb line.
- Late car when everything was timed. "Driver did not show, had to call them and they sent a car then. Delayed by 30 minutes which is bad enough when you have timed everything." (user report, Reddit, 2025). Prevention: the free-waiting question above, and a booking built around the call after customs rather than a clock time.
The counter-evidence is just as specific: "Used them 40+ times in the last 5-6 years. Always on time all hours, even super early mornings." (user report, Reddit, 2025); another user booked a 3:30 a.m. pickup and had the car there five minutes early (user report, Reddit, 2023). Both can be true of the same market. When a booking fails, the taxi and limo lines at Arrivals are the fallback — no call, GTAA flat rate.
Operator terms: examples
Examples of published terms from two GTAA-approved operators, as they appear on the operators' own sites — not a rating, not a recommendation; they show what "published terms" look like so you can ask any operator for the same detail.
published operator terms (examples, not a recommendation): Aeroport Taxi — flat rates 'up to 20% off', HST included, no booking fee, extra stops / 407 / waiting excluded, pickup at Terminal 1 Door A or Terminal 3 posts 1–7, pay in the vehicle by tap, chip or cash; Airline Limousine — GTAA limo tariff map, $2.01/km outside the map checked on 26 Sept 2026 · source: Aeroport Taxi / Airline Limousine
Check the current wording on Aeroport Taxi's Pearson page and Airline Limousine's rates page; the operator's page on the day you book is what binds.





