At Pearson, a lounge card opens Plaza Premium (and the KLM Crown Lounge in Terminal 3) — it does not open Maple Leaf Lounges. Maple Leaf needs an Air Canada ticket class, Aeroplan status or an eligible Aeroplan credit card. Paying works at every open Plaza Premium room and at the KLM desk, but a Maple Leaf pass cannot be bought at the airport on the day.

"what status do you need to get in?" (user report, Reddit, 2026 snapshot) is the question this page answers zone by zone. Getting a seat once you qualify is a separate question — see why a valid card still may not get you in at peak times.

Access matrix

Your departure zone decides which lounge you can reach; your programme decides whether its door opens. The six airside zones are sealed from each other after security, so a lounge in a neighbouring zone is not an option — find your zone first, then read that row.

What the programmes themselves list for Pearson:

  • Priority Pass: six Plaza Premium lounges (T1 Domestic, T1 US, T3 near B24, T3 International C32, T3 US, Infield Concourse), the Air France–KLM Crown Lounge, and three Be Relax spas ověřeno 26. 9. 2026 · zdroj: Priority Pass
  • Amex Platinum: Plaza Premium lounges and the Air France–KLM Crown Lounge; there is no Centurion Lounge at Toronto Pearson ověřeno 26. 9. 2026 · zdroj: American Express
  • Air Canada lounges: Aeroplan 50K/75K/Super Elite, Star Alliance Gold, eligible Aeroplan credit cards, Chase Sapphire Reserve (US), and partner status with Emirates and Virgin Australia — each with its own zone and companion rules ověřeno 26. 9. 2026 · zdroj: Air Canada
ZonePriority PassAmex Platinum (CA or US)Aeroplan card / 50K+ / Star Gold / Chase SRBusiness-class ticketPaying
T1 DomesticPlaza Premium (D20)Plaza Premium (D20)Maple Leaf Lounge Domestic; Chase SR also the Air Canada CaféMaple Leaf Lounge Domestic (Air Canada, Star Alliance)Plaza Premium door or prepaid; Maple Leaf buy-up online only, eligible fare
T1 Internationalnone — E77 is temporarily closed since 27 December 2025; reopening date not announced; not on the Priority Pass listE77 listed as temporarily closed; Amex redirects to the T1 Domestic Plaza PremiumMaple Leaf Lounge International (Chase SR: excludes Signature Suite)Maple Leaf Lounge International; Signature Suite only with paid Business Class (fare classes J, C, D, Z, P) or Aeroplan Business Class Flexible/Latitude rewards on an international Air Canada flight; no guestsno Plaza Premium in this zone; Maple Leaf buy-up online only
T1 US TransborderPlaza Premium (F55)Plaza Premium (F55)Maple Leaf Lounge Transborder; Chase SR also Maple Leaf Lounge ExpressMaple Leaf Lounge TransborderPlaza Premium door or prepaid; Maple Leaf buy-up online only
T3 Domestic–InternationalPlaza Premium (B24, C32); KLM Crown on an international departuresame as Priority Passnone — Air Canada's Toronto lounges are all in Terminal 1your airline's lounge (KLM Crown for Air France–KLM, SkyTeam)Plaza Premium door or prepaid; KLM desk fee, international only
T3 US TransborderPlaza Premium (A10)Plaza Premium (A10)noneAdmirals Club, American Airlines' rulesPlaza Premium door or prepaid
Infield ConcoursePlaza Premium IFCPlaza Premium IFCnonenone listedPlaza Premium prepaid

Stay limit on a card: 2 hours per visit with Priority Pass or Amex Platinum ověřeno 26. 9. 2026 · zdroj: Priority Pass / Amex; 3 hours with Priority Pass ověřeno 26. 9. 2026 · zdroj: Priority Pass. A business-class ticket or Aeroplan status has no published stay limit, only the entry window under Entry rules. The Signature Suite cell is reconstructed from third parties because Air Canada's page could not be captured — treat it as unverified.

Other programmes: KLM's own page lists DragonPass and DreamFolks beside Priority Pass for free entry (KLM Crown Lounge page); no official Plaza Premium room list for them was found. Visa Airport Companion, LoungeKey, Wealthsimple VIP, Scotiabank Passport and similar bank programmes: check the programme's own app — we have not verified those lists, and the app may not flag a closed room. "Does this mean I can't access a lounge if I'm travelling international from Pearson Terminal 1? I have the WS VIP" (user report, Reddit, 2026 snapshot).

Where your card does not work

Six situations in which the card, status or fare you hold does not open the door.

  • Terminal 1 International with Priority Pass, Amex or a bank card → the only Plaza Premium in this zone, at Gate E77, is temporarily closed since 27 December 2025; reopening date not announced ověřeno 26. 9. 2026 · zdroj: GTAA closure notice. Amex says its reception staff guide card members to the T1 Domestic Plaza Premium after international security; for Priority Pass there is no official reroute in the sources we checked, and by user reports the Domestic room admits them. Read what T1 international passengers do while the E77 lounge is closed before you clear security — the detour starts before the one-way doors. "Closed. It sucks that the app doesn't say this upfront." (user report, Reddit, 2026 snapshot)
  • Priority Pass or Amex Platinum at a Maple Leaf Lounge → refused; Air Canada admits card holders only from its own list of Aeroplan cards. Use the Plaza Premium in your zone, or buy Maple Leaf access online in advance if your Air Canada fare qualifies.
  • Award Business Standard, eUpgrade, partner business class or Aeroplan status at the Signature Suite → refused. The Suite's rule, reconstructed from third parties, is paid Business Class (fare classes J, C, D, Z, P) or Aeroplan Business Class Flexible/Latitude rewards on an international Air Canada flight; no guests; those tickets go to the Maple Leaf Lounge International. Whether the Suite is open on your date is a status question for the Terminal 1 page, not an access rule.
  • Priority Pass at the KLM Crown Lounge in the evening peak → by user reports, staff turn Priority Pass members away when Air France–KLM business passengers fill the room; KLM's page says card entry is free "upon availability". Plaza Premium C32 is in the same zone — see when the KLM Crown Lounge turns Priority Pass members away.
  • A domestic Plaza Premium pass, or the Domestic Maple Leaf Lounge, with an international boarding pass → refused; every room is restricted to its own departure zone, and staff check the boarding pass, not the card. "because our ticket were not domestic. They wouldn't let us in." (user report, Reddit, 2026 snapshot). Plaza Premium's booking page asks you to confirm the departure area before you pay — do.
  • Aeroplan credit card at a Maple Leaf Lounge outside Canada and the United States → not covered; Air Canada limits card access to its lounges in those two countries. The card opens the Toronto lounge, not the one at your foreign departure airport.

Paying without status

Yes — an economy passenger can pay at the door of any open Plaza Premium lounge and at the KLM Crown Lounge desk; the Maple Leaf Lounge sells access only online, only with an eligible Air Canada fare, and only in advance. The Plaza Premium door rate is CAD 65 for 2 hours, CAD 79 for 3 hours, CAD 105 for 6 hours (taxes extra); children 2–11 pay 30% less, under 2 free ověřeno 26. 9. 2026 · zdroj: GTAA. Online, the same rooms sell at dynamic rates starting from CAD 24.68 (Terminal 1 Domestic and US), CAD 25.00 (Terminal 3 International), CAD 73.00 (Terminal 3 Domestic and US), CAD 24.86 (Infield Concourse) ověřeno 26. 9. 2026 · zdroj: Plaza Premium.

OptionPriceTime limitWhere you buyCatch
Plaza Premium walk-inCAD 65 for 2 hours, CAD 79 for 3 hours, CAD 105 for 6 hours (taxes extra); children 2–11 pay 30% less, under 2 freethe block you pay forlounge desk"at capacity" queues at peak; paying does not guarantee a seat
Plaza Premium prepaidfrom CAD 24.68 (Terminal 1 Domestic and US), CAD 25.00 (Terminal 3 International), CAD 73.00 (Terminal 3 Domestic and US), CAD 24.86 (Infield Concourse)the block you bookGTAA book-a-lounge page or Plaza Premium's sitedynamic "from" price; T3 Domestic and US start far above T1, reason not given by the sources; entry still subject to space
KLM Crown Lounge desk feeCAD 50 at the desk, subject to space, for any passenger departing internationally from Terminal 3not statedlounge deskT3 international departures only; not sold when full
Maple Leaf Lounge buy-upCAD 49 with Premium Economy or Latitude, CAD 59 with Comfort, CAD 79 with Flex — bought online at least 24 hours before departure, not at the airportentry window appliesaircanada.com, at booking or by updating the reservationnot sold at the airport on the day
Maple Leaf Lounge guest feeCAD 59 per guestas the memberlounge desk, member presentuseless without the member

Per hour, the door rate rewards long stays: the six-hour block costs about half as much per hour as the two-hour block, and the Terminal 1 prepaid "from" rate for the shortest block is well under half the door price for the same room. That is one room sold through two channels at different times, not two products; GTAA advertises a prepay discount on its booking page.

Two warnings from users who paid. On buying the Maple Leaf pass: "The lounge passes must be purchased online (not sold at airport) and must be flex or better" (user report, Reddit, 2026 snapshot) — Air Canada's rule is CAD 49 with Premium Economy or Latitude, CAD 59 with Comfort, CAD 79 with Flex — bought online at least 24 hours before departure, not at the airport ověřeno 26. 9. 2026 · zdroj: Air Canada. On arriving with one: "NEVER buy a day pass to the Canada Airlines Maple Leaf Lounge. I did this and arrived at the lounge in Toronto, and we were denied access because they were full." (user report, review site, 2026 snapshot). We found no official statement on refunds after a capacity refusal; treat that risk as unresolved.

Is it worth paying?

It depends on four things you can check before you pay, not on a verdict about the lounge. Among card-holding users in our sample the majority view is that the walk-in fee is not worth it and the minority view is that a fixed price for a seat, food and drinks is reasonable — opinions about one visit, not facts about today's room.

  • Time before boarding. A paid block or the card stay limit works against a long wait: arrive four hours early and you either pay for the longer block or sit outside for part of it. Under about ninety minutes, the walk, the desk and any queue eat into what you paid for.
  • What you will consume. On Priority Pass at the T1 Domestic room, standard alcoholic drinks are listed as complimentary and premium brands as extra; on a paid pass, Plaza Premium tags its bar "charges may apply". If you would not order a meal and a couple of drinks at a terminal restaurant, the door rate buys you a chair.
  • Space at your hour. Paying does not move you past a queue, and the Amex listing states that access is not guaranteed and subject to space. Check whether there is likely to be a seat at your hour, and what to do if not first.
  • Food on board. On a short flight with no meal, a lounge visit replaces one; on a long-haul in a cabin that serves one, it duplicates it.

"IMO they're not at all worth the walk-in fee." (user report, Reddit, 2024) versus "An extra $60–$70 to be comfortable with some food and drinks seems pretty reasonable" (user report, Reddit, 2026 snapshot). The condition that separates them: worth it when the card makes it free and you have at least ninety minutes; rarely worth the two-hour door rate at a peak hour, by user reports.

Entry rules

Every Pearson lounge is airside and admits you on a same-day departing boarding pass for its own zone; Air Canada adds an entry window, the card programmes a stay limit.

Can I get in on arrival?

No. None of the Pearson lounges is an arrivals lounge; Air Canada's wording is "present your valid same-day ticket or boarding pass", and the Plaza Premium and KLM rooms sit inside departure zones. If you are connecting, the Air Canada rule is up to 3 hours before departure; any time when connecting. Reports that top-tier Aeroplan members are admitted to the Domestic Maple Leaf Lounge after landing are user claims we could not verify.

How early can I enter a Maple Leaf Lounge or the Signature Suite?

up to 3 hours before departure; any time when connecting ověřeno 26. 9. 2026 · zdroj: Air Canada. In a delay the window counts from the original departure time. "They require a boarding pass for an outgoing, within three hours if a normal departure, just old same day if a connection" (user report, Reddit, 2026 snapshot). Plaza Premium publishes no entry window; you enter whenever the room is open and has space.

How long can I stay on Priority Pass or Amex?

2 hours per visit with Priority Pass or Amex Platinum; at the KLM Crown Lounge, 3 hours with Priority Pass. On a paid pass you stay for the block you bought. Air Canada publishes no stay limit for Maple Leaf Lounges.

Do I show the card or the boarding pass?

Both, at Plaza Premium and KLM: the card proves the programme, the boarding pass proves the zone, and KLM also asks for your passport. At Maple Leaf Lounges, Air Canada's rule is the same-day ticket or boarding pass; by one user report, an Aeroplan card's entitlement shows as a code on the boarding pass only when the Aeroplan number is attached to the booking — "you can't get in by simply showing the card" (user report, Reddit, 2026 snapshot). Unverified; adding your Aeroplan number before check-in costs nothing.

Can I use a domestic lounge on an international ticket?

No. Each Plaza Premium room, the KLM Crown Lounge and each Maple Leaf Lounge is restricted to passengers departing from its own zone; the Priority Pass and Amex listings say so for every room, and the refusals users describe are exactly this case.

Children and guests

Children are admitted at every lounge family at Pearson, with different price and guest rules; the one policy not to rely on is "kids under twelve free" at Maple Leaf, a single user report that Air Canada does not confirm. "will they let me, my wife, and my 1st grade in with that card?" (user report, Reddit, 2026 snapshot) — it depends on the row.

Lounge familyChildrenGuestsNotes
Plaza Premium (door or prepaid)under 2 free; children 2–11 pay 30% less at the dooreach person paysAmex's T1 International listing shows an adults-only line beside its infant rule — contradictory, treat as unverified
Plaza Premium (Priority Pass or Amex)infant rule as above, per the Priority Pass listingsyour programme's own guest terms; guest fees are not in the official Pearson sourcesPriority Pass states no guest cap for the Infield Concourse room
Maple Leaf Loungeminors must be accompanied by an adult; 50K+ Aeroplan members may bring a partner, one guest and up to 5 dependent childrenStar Alliance Gold: one guest on the same flight; eligible Aeroplan card: one guest on the same flight, "for a limited time"; otherwise CAD 59 per guest"under twelve free" is a user report, not Air Canada's rule
Signature Suiteonly on their own qualifying ticket (third-party sources)nonerule pending official confirmation
KLM Crown Loungesame infant rule as Plaza Premium, per the Priority Pass listingnot stated for card entrydesk fee applies per person

Which rooms have a play area is a room fact on the Terminal 3 page, not here.